First Day

Workin' Woman

Ready, steady, rollin’ to my first day at the new job.

I want to chat with you about composting for your garden.  But before I talk on about egg shells, coffee grinds, and other undesirable items of garbage, I just want to let you know…

Today was my first day of work.

Picture of the First Day of Work

My husband’s family still takes pictures of the new student on his/her first day of (graduate) school. Apparently the first day of work is no different :)

I don’t know what I was more nervous about–driving to work, arriving at work, or doing my work. That was dumb.  I shouldn’t have been worried at all.  I had a wonderful, hectic first day :)

Composting

Composter

A composter left to us by our dear landlady. We would have gotten solar panels too, but zoning laws said “BEEEH TRY AGAIN”

Have you turned your compost yet?  No?  Me neither.  (Mom, don’t be mad!)  Let’s do it tomorrow morning, okay?  So far  I have been putting everything but the kitchen sink into the compost.  (I leave out the kitchen sink because we store the compost bucket under the kitchen sink.  Too many laws of physics going on to break THAT rule.)

Compost Storage

 

Compost Bucket

The Nashville Compost Bucket

According to some professionals over in the Composting Department,

“In the right conditions, bacteria and other microorganisms quickly break down organic material into rich, fertile earth that you can add to your soil to increase its fertility and health. After the organisms have done their thing, they generate finished compost, which has lots of minerals and micro-nutrients in an easily accessible form for plants.”

(Source)

What I DO put in the compost:

  • veggie scraps
  • paper towels
  • coffee grinds
  • bread crumbs
  • banana peels
  • apple cores
  • dryer lint
  • egg shells
  • grass clippings
  • dirt
  • inside plants (they’re dying quickly down south! WHY?)
  • old coffee that has been sitting on my dresser for several days
  • water*

*Very important to keep the compost bin relatively (and regularly) moist! Also, a good compost lady (unlike myself) would turn it once a week to allow optimal composting.

What I DO NOT put in the compost: 

  • meat
  • the neighbor’s dog poop
  • limes (I totally broke this rule at least twice before I got smart.  High alkaline, ya’ll!)
A glance at our garbage life.

A glance at our garbage life. No, no. What I mean to say is… viewing our lives through the lens of a compost pile?  I’ll take credit for the eggs.

Wow!  What a great start to the week.  No signs of the spinach or basil yet, but the lettuce is growing like a monster.  I’ll tell you about it tomorrow.

See you Tuesday!

 

2 responses to “First Day

    • I haven’t seen any worms around yet. Although I’ve been told if my compost is hot enough, worms will come to me. I might have to do some digging this weekend and give you an update.

Leave a Reply

